Return to Q&A Home Page

I have a certificate that says I’m Level 4 on the Registry and another that says I’m a Star 2. What’s the difference?!

Jan 10, 2024 | Rising Stars

It can be confusing and frustrating to have to enroll in so many systems that assign “ratings” or put you on a “lattice.” What are the differences? And what do the ratings mean? Let’s break it down. 

The Maine Roads to Quality Registry: 

  • This is a system that assigns LEVELS on the CAREER LATTICES to INDIVIDUALS. Each individual practitioner at a licensed program must be an Active Member of the MRTQ Registry. 

  • Levels are assigned based on education, training, and experience for each individual. 

  • Registry membership never expires, though Members are encouraged to update their information at least annually. Accounts with no activity for more than three years are changed to Inactive status. 

  • There are different Career Lattices for Direct Care Staff, Administrative/Management Staff, Home Visitors, and more. 

  • Learn more about the MRTQ Registry

Rising Stars for ME: 

  • This is a system that assigns STARS from 1 to 5 within a Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS) to PROGRAMS. Enrollment with Rising Stars for ME is required by licensing. 

  • All licensed programs are rated at least at Star 2; programs can apply to move up to a higher rating by meeting specific quality Standards and supplying documentation via an E-Portfolio. License-exempt programs receiving Child Care Affordability Program (CCAP) funds are rated at Star 1. 

  • Rating expiration dates with Rising Stars for ME align with the license expiration date of the program. 

  • There are different Standards for Facilities (serving thirteen or more children) and Family Child Care Programs (serving twelve or fewer children). 

  • Learn more about Rising Stars for ME

As always, reach out to risingstarsforme@maine.edu with questions.